Pokémon Rules, Cards, and Sportsmanship

Now that I have been going to Pokémon league for a while, I have found some good resources that I would like to share. If you have resources that you frequent, please feel free to share them as well. I like knowing where something is without having to do a long search for it. These resources are really only to stress points that I feel have been lax in games I have observed recently…

Even though it’s out of date, I have been reading through the 2008 rule book. It’s available in pdf so you can easily print it and keep it with your decks. The newest Black and White rules are useful for finding out rule changes, but are not as specific as the rule book. I’m hoping a more specific rule set will be released with Emerging Powers.

I would like to stress, the only cards currently in rotation are Heart Gold/Soul Silver and beyond. Everything printed before those cards, as of July 1, are no longer legal to play. Anything goes in league play, but my opinion is, try to keep to the legal cards so the game play is more evenly matched.

Lastly I would like to touch on sportsmanship. It may be the last item in this quick post, but I think it is the most important part of the game. Unfortunately, it isn’t stressed as much as it used to be.

This is a video I found on YouTube from the 1950’s. I hope you find it mildy comical while being reminded of the importance of playing fair.

These are just the most recent links I have found useful. I’m sure there are more out there. If you have a favorite, please share it!

Leave a Reply

